Monthly Archives: August 2017

Science In the News

This year, each student will be responsible for researching a current event!  You will work on this assignment independently and on your own time.  Yes, this is homework! Science and technology are changing at a rapid pace, it is important that we keep ourselves informed in order to be scientifically literate citizens in our communities.  Please see this handout for the assignment.

 

Presentation Dates

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Assignment Calendar

Welcome!  

What is an Assignment Calendar?   This is an easy to search chronological archive of our unit!  I will post what we did in class, assignments, reminders, announcements and updates as needed.  How does this benefit you?  This is a place where you can go to check out what we did during the day (if you were missing school) and is a place where I will be posting assignments, some extra resources,  or links to blog posts of the assignment.  This post will be very helpful to you if you would like to check on a past resource or assignment if needed!

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

  • Welcome!
  • Rubric
  • Supplies / textbook
  • SDS exemplar – Due May 24 – This semester we will be doing MMM – Check out Google Classroom for more info!
  • All of your handouts will be located on SHELF 2
  • Homework board
  • Animals in the room
  • Return bin and supplies, hand in bins
  • Folders
  • SnapChat Group – BLOCK ME FROM YOUR STORIES 🙂
  • Google Classroom
  • Lab Safety

Thursday, January 31

  • Begin Jurassic World – keep notes on any evidence of evolution, genetics, and biotechnology – we will discuss at the end of each day.

Friday, February 1

  • Continue Jurassic World – keep notes on any evidence of evolution, genetics, and biotechnology – we will discuss at the end of each day.

Monday, February 4

  • Finish Jurassic World

Tuesday, February 5

  • Bioethics survey
  • History of Biotechnology – this is a VERY important video for the entire course.
  • DNA electrophoresis

 

Wednesday, February 6

  • CRISPR

Thursday, February 7

  • Stem cells
  • No buses today – we hope to do on our gel electrophoresis lab tomorrow – come prepared!

Friday, February 8

  • Bus Day today
  • No lab today – hopefully, Monday if the weather cooperates
  • Finished Stem cells
  • Began Gene Therapy
  •  Zoom meeting info:  Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/5500617062

Monday, February 10

  • M&M Gel Electrophoresis lab

Tuesday, February 11

  • Post-lab
  • Gene Splicing (John Oliver)
  • Cloning – can 2 females have a baby?

Wednesday, February 12

  • Vaccines

Thursday, February 14

  • Finished Vaccines
  • GMO’s
  • Bioremediation
  • Exam begins tomorrow – Due Monday, February 25

Friday, February 15

  • Exam

Assignment Calendar

Welcome!  

What is an Assignment Calendar?   This is an easy to search chronological archive of our unit!  I will post what we did in class, assignments, reminders, announcements, and updates as needed.  How does this benefit you?  This is a place where you can go to check out what we did during the day (if you were missing school) and is a place where I will be posting assignments, some extra resources,  or links to blog posts of the assignment.  This post will be very helpful to you if you would like to check on a past resource or assignment if needed!

 

Assignment Calendar

Welcome!  

What is an Assignment Calendar?   This is an easy to search chronological archive of our unit!  I will post what we did in class, assignments, reminders, announcements and updates as needed.  How does this benefit you?  This is a place where you can go to check out what we did during the day (if you were missing school) and is a place where I will be posting assignments, some extra resources,  or links to blog posts of the assignment.  This post will be very helpful to you if you would like to check on a past resource or assignment if needed!

Monday, February 25

  • Assessment due
  • Abiogenesis, Biogenesis
  • Scientists social media assignment (Google Classroom) due next Monday

 

Tuesday, February 26

  • Characteristics of Life
  • Viruses – SnapChat your opinion

Wednesday, February 27

  • Evolution, Tiktaalik, Evolutionary theories

Thursday, February 28

  • Evolutionary cards activity
  • Review the difference between Darwin and Lamark’s views

Friday, March 1

  • MMM research!!!! Due on Thursday!

Monday, March 4

  • Last class day to work on MMM research – Due Thursday!

Tuesday, March 5

Wednesday, March 6

  • Darwin’s observations
  • Galapagos Beak of the Finch video and questions

Thursday, March 7

  • Battle of the Beaks lab – will finish on Tuesday!

Friday, March 8

  • MMM Brackets!!!!

Tuesday, March 12

  • Finish Battle of the Beaks Lab -you must write down all of the data collected, calculate out all of the averages, answer the questions and then draw one BAR graph for all average data collected.  Beak Types will be on the Bottom, Collected number of food items on the side.  For example – all data for Scissors will be in yellow bars, Tweezers in green bars, and clothespins in red bars.  Look at the example below to give you an idea.

Wednesday, March 13

  • Health Expo

Thursday, March 14

  • Selective pressures game (pom poms)

Friday, March 15

  • Finish questions for selective pressures game
  • Sickle cell anemia lab (selective pressures – diseases)

Monday, March 18

  • Finish sickle cell anemia lab
  • Skittles lab (speciation)

Tuesday, March 19

  • 15 minutes to finish speciation lab (skittles lab) – hand one lab in per lab group
  • Notes on Evolution over generations – Fill in the blank (your welcome)
  • Evolutionary Arms Race – begin to watch the video – you will need to finish it tomorrow.